sparkle wave

Here is a piece I have been working on for a while:

Linda Oeffling:  sparkle waveLinda Oeffling, Sparkle Wave

The wood came first.  It was a great chunk of driftwood, but pretty flat on the back surface.  I decided to put it upright and place glass behind it. I really didn’t want to use a bottom base of glass; that has never really worked out looking as good as I envision.

Linda OefflingLinda Oeffling, Sparkle Wave

I found another chunk of wood to suit the back and support the piece to stand up.  The back of a fused piece turns out a with more of a matte finish.  Some glassworkers cold work their pieces, meaning using tools to further shape a piece after it comes out of the kiln. I don’t have equipment for cold work polishing (yet).  So back to the kiln.  I fused pieces of frothy sea foam.

Linda Oeffling

Linda Oeffling

Some bits of sparkly water on the wood, and the piece is finished. I am considering putting this piece in the show in September, “Art of the Land”, at the Starline Gallery.  I’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “sparkle wave

Leave a Reply

